‘Padma Vibhushan’, one of the highest civilian award in India, is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year. The awards are conferred by the President of India at a function held at Rashtrapati Bhawan.

The President has approved 109 awards for 2012 (5 Padma Vibhushan, 27 Padma Bhushan and 77 Padma Shri Awards). There are 19 ladies among the awardees. The list of Padma Vibushan award winners is given below:


1. Shri K G Subramanyan

Area: Art (Painting & Sculpture)

State: West Bengal

Intro: K. G. Subramanyan wiki

2. Late Shri Mario De Miranda

Area: Art (Cartoonist)

State: Goa

Intro: Mario De Miranda wiki

3. Late (Dr.) Bhupen Hazarika

Area: Art (Vocal Music)

State: Assam

Intro: Bhupen Hazarika wiki

4. Dr. Kantilal Hastimal Sancheti

Area: Medicine (Orthopedics)

State: Maharashtra

Intro: Kantilal Hastimal Sancheti wiki

5. Shri T V Rajeswar

Area: Civil Service

State: Delhi

Intro: T. V. Rajeswar wiki

Useful Links:

You can find the list of other awardees at the website of Ministry of Home Affairs.


Free GK on Mail

Free GK on Mail

Join to receive the latest news and updates from GJ Tutorial.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!