Latest Award winners in India

Gopinath Muthukad wins Merlin Award:

Thiruvananthapuram-based illusionist and stunt performer Gopinath Muthukad has been selected by the International Magicians Society (IMS) of the US for the International Merlin Award this year. He is the second Indian magician, after P.C. Sorcar Jr. of West Bengal, to receive the award. The jury selected Muthukad April 2011 for his contributions to the development and popularisation of magical art and science over the last 35 years.

S. L. Bhyrappa wins Saraswati Samman:

Kannada writer S. L. Bhyrappa was on April 5, 2011 chosen for the prestigious Saraswati Samman for his novel ‘Mandra’. The award, constituted by the K. K. Birla Foundation, consists of Rs.7.50 lakh, a citation and a plaque. The jury which selected Bhyrappa was headed by former Chief Justice of India G. B. Patnaik. Seventy-five-year-old Bhyrappa has so far published 22 novels, the first being ‘Bheemakaya’ in 1959. He is one of the bestselling novelists in Kannada over the past 25 years.

D. Seshagiri Rao selected for ‘The Pride of India Leadership Award’:

D. Seshagiri Rao, cardiologist and Head of the Department, of Hyderabad-based Nizam’s Institute of Medical Sciences (NIMS), has been selected for ‘The Pride of India Leadership Award’, an international award given by NRI Institute, a Delhi-based not-for-profit NGO of People of Indian Origin. The award is being given to Dr. Rao for the ‘outstanding service and excellence in cardiology. It will be presented on April 15 by Mauritius President Sir Anerood Jugnauth in Delhi.

M. S. Dhoni offered honorary commission in Territorial Army:

World Cup winning captain of the Indian team, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, was offered an honorary commission in the Territorial Army, during his meeting with the Chief of the Army Staff General V.K. Singh in New Delhi on April 5, 2011.  Dhoni readily accepted the offer. The commission would go through as per the laid-down procedure of the service. It may be noted that former captain Kapil Dev, is already an honorary Lieutenant Colonel in the Territorial Army, while Sachin Tendulkar was conferred an honorary Group Captain rank of the IAF in September last year, which was approved by the President of India.


Free GK on Mail

Free GK on Mail

Join to receive the latest news and updates from GJ Tutorial.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!