Anand beats Gelfand to win World Chess Championship

Indian Grandmaster Viswanathan Anand beat challenger Boris Gelfand of Israel in a tense rapid chess tiebreaker to win the World Championship crown for the fifth time and fourth in a row, on May 30, 2012 at the State Tretyakov Gallery in Moscow. After a 6-6 deadlock in the 12-classical games, the rapid finale ended 2.5-1.5 in Anand’s favour. Anand won the second game and drew the other three to win the title, making him the world chess champion five times in all and four times in a row since 2007. The victory also meant that Anand will keep the crown till 2014, when the next World Championship will be held. Anand will pocket approximately $1.4 million – 55% of the total prize fund of $2.55 million – while Gelfand will get the remaining amount.

Anand’s world titles

2000-2001: New Delhi-Iran: Won for the first time, in a knock-out format. Starting with 128 players, Anand marched his way ahead in New Delhi to set up a finale with Alexey Shirov of Spain. It was a six-game final where Anand won three and drew one at Tehran in Iran.
2007: Mexico City (Mexico): Pitted against the best in the world in a tournament spread over 14-games between eight players, Anand won in style.
2008: Bonn (Germany): Anand faced Vladimir Kramnik in a 12-game match. The Indian won three, lost one and drew seven to reach 6.5 points. Anand became the first player in history to win world championship in three different formats: knock-out, match tournament and match.
2010: Sofia (Bulgaria): Anand beat Bulgarian Veselin Topalov.

Indian men win silver at Asian Chess:

Indian men’s team beat Iraq 4-0 to win silver while their women counterparts bagged a bronze in the Asian Nations Chess Cup that concluded in Zaozhuang, China on May 26, 2012. Top rated K Sasikiran rested himself while P Harikrishna, Parimarjan Negi, Abhijeet Gupta and GN Gopal completed a easy victory to collect 15 points to finish second to top seed China-1. China-1 beat Mongolia 3.5-0.5 to win the gold while China-2 won the Bronze medal. In the women’s section, China-1 won the ninth match in a row to deservingly win the gold medal while China-2 won the silver ahead of India with better tie-break.

Webber wins Monaco F1:

Red Bull driver, Australian Mark Webber won the Formula One Monaco Grand Prix at the Circuit de Monaco, Monte Carlo, on May 27, 2012. Webber, 35, finished six-tenths of a second clear of Nico Rosberg of Mercedes, with two-time champion Spaniard Fernando Alonso third for Ferrari. Force India drivers Paul di Resta and Nico Hulkenberg finished seventh and eighth respectively while Narain Karthikeyan of HRT, the only Indian participating in F1, finished 15th. Australian Grand Prix, organised at Albert Park, Melbourne on March 18, 2012, was won by Jenson Button (Britain) of McLaren-Mercedes. Malaysian Grand Prix, organised at Sepang International Circuit, Kuala Lumpur on March 25, 2012, was won by Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso (Spain). Chinese Grand Prix, organised at Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai on April 15, 2012, was won by Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg (Germany). Bahrain Grand Prix, organised at Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir, on April 22, 2012, was won by Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel (Belgium). The Spanish Grand Prix, organised at Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona, on May 13, 2012, was won by Williams-Renault driver Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela).

Federer creates Grand Slam match wins record:

Roger Federer set a new record of 234 Grand Slam match wins on May 30, 2012 to reach the last 32 at Roland Garros. Federer beat Romania’s Adrian Ungur 6-3, 6-2, 6-7 (6), 6-3, and go past Jimmy Connors’s long-standing record of 233 wins at the majors.

Sania wins Brussels Open doubles:

Sania Mirza clinched her 14th WTA doubles title with victory in the Brussels Open on May 26, 2012 in Brussels, Belgium. Sania and her partner Bethanie Matek-Sands defeated Polish-Chinese duo Alicja Rosolska and Jie Zheng 6-3 6-2.

Joshna Chinappa wins Chennai Open:

Joshna Chinappa bagged her sixth WISPA crown when she beat England’s Sarah Jane Perry 9-11, 11-4, 11-8, 12-10 in the final to win the Chennai Open women’s squash tournament at the Indian Squash Academy, Chennai on May 26, 2012.

Free GK on Mail

Free GK on Mail

Join to receive the latest news and updates from GJ Tutorial.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!