Prestigious Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for 2008 were presented by President Pratibha Patil in New Delhi. The list of winners is:

1. Sitara Devi (Kathak Dancer )

2. Bhupen Hazarika (Musician)

3. Khaled Chowdhury (Stage Designer)

4. R.C. Mehta (Performing Arts)

The award provides Akademi Fellowship honours recognizing contribution to performing arts. The Akademi Fellowship is restricted to 30 living people at any given point of time.

In addition to this the general council of the Sangeet Natak Akademi also selected 34 practitioners of music, dance and theatre for 33 awards, including one joint award for the Akademi Puraskar for the year 2008. Some of the names in the list are:

Ulhas Kashalkar, M.R. Gautam (Hindustani vocal music), Ramesh Mishra (Sarangi), Krishna Ram Chaudhary (Shehnai), Puranam Purushottama Sastri (Carnatic vocal), Dancers Saroja Vaidyanathan (Bharatnatyam), Shashi Shankla (Kathak), Kalamandalam Kuttan (Kathakali) and Ramani Ranjan Jena (Odissi); and theatre personalities like Markand Bhatt, S. Ramanujam and Probir Guha, Shakuntala Nagarkar (Maharastra), Birabar Sahoo (Orissa), Mangi Bai Arya (Rajasthan), L. Heramot Meitei, Thang-Ta (Manipur), Lakha Khan Mangniyar (Rajasthan), and Hilda Mit Lepcha (Sikkim) were honoured for their contribution to folk and tribal genres of the arts.

You can get the complete list of Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards List at:

Free GK on Mail

Free GK on Mail

Join to receive the latest news and updates from GJ Tutorial.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!